top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStembinkosi Ngulube

THATO MOSEHLE: MISS SA 2020

Updated: Jul 31, 2020



This month’s interview is with 25-year-old doctor and aspiring makeup artist Thato Mosehle, born and bred in Stilfontein, North West. A few weeks ago, Thato decided to make her dream come true by entering the 62nd edition of the Miss South Africa pageant. She is currently part of the top 15 contestants and we had the privilege to speak to her.


Q: What motivated you to join Miss SA?

A: In as much as I am a doctor, my family is already so proud of me because I have broken the record of being the first doctor in my family. I want to challenge my family lineage and my community. I want to show girls in Stilfontein that even they can become a Miss SA contestant.



Q: How do you manage your busy schedule and massive workload?

A: I always keep my calendar on my phone. I have a priority list that I do not compromise on. Most importantly, I have learnt the art of saying no, it’s okay to tell someone ‘not today’. Then there’s the obvious things like drinking water and keeping myself spiritually fired up.


Q: How do you unwind after a busy day?

A: I love power naps; they were my life line in varsity. So 10-30 minute naps and watching movies on Netflix


Q: Where do you draw your inspiration from?

A: I draw most of my inspiration from my mother. She is humble and hard working in everything she does. She started as a tea lady at the local police station and studied her way up to be a colonel. She still plans on going further in her studies and motivates me to do what her and her parents were never afforded the opportunity to do. “We are our ancestors’ dreams”


Q: What have you realized during your journey as a Miss SA contestant?

A: I’ve realized the importance of revisiting the reason why I entered in the first place. I’ve been in states where I’ve doubted my ability to win Miss SA. However, I always have to reaffirm myself and know that I am worthy of this position. It has challenged my faith, it has challenged my abilities and it has challenged the way I see myself.


Q: If you could say anything to the young girls in your community what would it be?

A: It’s a cliché but it is true, you can be whatever you want to be if you surround yourself with the right people and the right resources. You are an individual, despite your gender or race. Reach out to people who have walked the road that you want to journey on.


We can succeed in anything we put our mind to- Thato Mosehle

Q: One of our very own NWSD alumni, Kobus Rautenbach, will be sponsoring your looks for Miss SA. How did that agreement come about?


A: Kobus and I go way back to my Matric year. My Matric dance was in 5 days and I found myself with a disaster of a dress so I reached out to Kobus to make me a new one. I loved his personality and aura. He just showed me the material and detail, no fittings. My dress came out beautifully and was a perfect fit. He then reached out to me via Facebook messenger and offered to sponsor me.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page