top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStembinkosi Ngulube

BRIDAL CHALLENGE 2020

Welcome to the 3rd edition of the 'QnA series'. This time we get information on the winner of the North West School of Design Bridal Challenge. This challenge is an annual event where final year design students are given 4 days to make a bridal couture dress. Today we interview Patrick Ferguson, who not only won the challenge, he made not one, but two dresses in 36 hours!



Q: How does it feel to be the winner of bridal challenge 2020?

A:it is such a great honor especially considering that I do want to do bridal full time when I finish my studies


Q: what was your first reaction when you got the theme “20's Revival”?

A: It was expected since it usually coincides with the theme of the 2nd years’ little black dress. We kind of had an idea.


Q: who is your ideal customer for this bridal gown?

A: She would be someone who wants to make a statement on her wedding and is not afraid to spend on an extravagant dress.


Q: would you consider making bridal wear for a living?

A: Yes, definitely. That has always been the plan for the future and hopefully I get to live that dream.


Q: So who inspired your look?

A: I was researching on the 20's era of fashion when I came across a bridal godet dress. I went on to grab more inspiration from the first tinker bell costume that was made for the 20's movie Peter Pan.



Q: why did you choose these specific fabrics for this dress?

A: I chose scuba as the base fabric because it is easy to use and it compliments a woman’s figure. I used tulle at the bottom to add drama and a bit of applique at the bust area.


Q: How many hours did it take you in total?

A: I think I used 36 hours in total to make the dress.


That has always been the plan for the future and hopefully I get to live that dream.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page