top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStembinkosi Ngulube

GRAMMYs DRESS stirs conflict on social media

Okay so let’s take this from a visual point of view first. That print is hideous. I get that she was trying to make a statement but you can still make it look pretty!

Okay so let’s get to the real issue here. As soon as this was posted on social media, and I mean as soon, people went crazy. Apparently she is of black and Hispanic descent and she has been known for wearing statement dresses on the red carpet. She wore this dress in support of the wall Trump wanted to build on the border of Mexico.


https://www.google.co.za/search?hl=en-ZA&q=Joy+Villa&tbm=isch&tbs=simg:CAQSlQEJY9CCKZWHwb0aiQELEKjU2AQaAggVDAsQsIynCBpiCmAI


So I asked you, the readers, what you thought of the wall. A few said they were for it because it would bring order and reduce crime in both countries especially America. Most, of course, labeled it as pure racism and cause of division. Is this wall really for safety? The first reason Americans gave is “because they take our jobs and bring drugs". Firstly, you think a wall is going to stop drug dealers?

In all the research and the polls I found, no one asked the Mexican what they thought. I’m an immigrant and I remember when I applied for a visa to live in South Africa as a 12 year old and was rejected after days of waking up in the middle of the night standing in endless lines. First time I saw my mother cry in front of me. She is no criminal. She just wanted a better life for her child.

68 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page